Nordic Council Literature Prize

  • Sarah Surgey
  • Tagged , , , , , ,
  • 17th August 2015
  • image_16_9_bigger (10)

    Nordophile will be watching very closely at The Nordic Council as they will yet again be recognising and bringing to our attention the Nordic talents in the Nordic literature world. This year the awards ceremony will take place in one of the Nordic’s synonymous cultural cities, Reykjavik.




    With such a huge interest in Nordic genre books across the world, we throughly recommend you keeping up to date with these awards, its authors and recommendations.

    Reykjavik will be a fitting backdrop to the awards ceremony on the 26th October as it is a city with the title of UNESCO City of Literature, which has produced some great Nordic authors including…..

    Arnaldur Indriðason, Ólafur Gunnarsson and Yrsa Sigurðardóttir.




    Nordic Coun­cil Lit­er­a­ture Prize

    The prize has been awarded since 1962 for a work of imaginative literature written in one of the Nordic languages. This can be a novel, a play, a collection of poetry, short stories or essays that meet high literary and artistic standards. The intention of the prize is also to increase interest in the literature of neighbouring countries as well in Nordic cultural fellowship.

    To be taken into consideration works must have been published for the first time during the previous two years, or in the case of a language other than Danish, Norwegian or Swedish, during the last four years.

    The Literature Prize is awarded as a rule along with the other Nordic prizes in music, film and nature and environment at a special ceremony during the Nordic Council’s annual assembly, the Session, in the autumn.

    The prize is administered by the secretariat for the Swedish delegation to the Nordic Council which works out of the Swedish Parliament  and, like the other prizes, is worth DKK 350 000 (ca 47 000 Euro).

    2014 Winner -Kjell Westö



    Cata Portin

    Finnish author Kjell Westö was the 2014 winner of the literature prize. It was his novel Mirage 38 which secured his accolade. Described by the awards council as being declared the winner because of “the evocative prose of which breathes life into a critical moment in Finland’s history – one that has links to the present day.”

    The award of 350,000 DKK was presented by the years previous winner Danish-Norwegian author Kim Leine, in Stockholm.


    2015 Nominees


    Pia Juul – Avuncular. Onkelagtige tekster

    Helle Helle – Hvis det er


    image_16_9_bigger (1)

    Karolina Zapolska


    The Sami language area

    Niillas Holmberg – Amas amas amasmuvvat


    image_16_9_bigger (2)

    Eetu Niininen



    Peter Sandström – Transparente Blanche

    Hannu Raittila – Terminaali


    image_16_9_bigger (3)

    Robert Seger


    Faroe Islands

    Sólrún Michelsen – Hinumegin er mars


    image_16_9_bigger (4)



    Niviaq Korneliussen – HOMO sapienne


    image_16_9_bigger (5)

    Jørgen Chemnitz



    Jón Kalman Stefánsson – Fiskarnir hafa enga fætur

    Þorsteinn frá Hamri – Skessukatlar


    image_16_9_bigger (6)



    Kristine Næss – Bare et menneske

    Jon Fosse – Trilogien: Andvake. Olavs draumar. Kveldsvævd


    image_16_9_bigger (7)

    Finn Ståle Felberg



    Therese Bohman – Den andra kvinnan

    Bruno K. Öijer – Och natten viskade Annabel Lee


    image_16_9_bigger (8)

    Sara Mac Key



    Karin Erlandsson – Minkriket


    image_16_9_bigger (9)

    Emilia Bergmark-Jiménez


    To find out more about these awards, the authors and their books, go to where you can also have a look at some of the other awards which The Nordic Council offer to other Nordic genres. has various prize awards which promote, recognise and reward Nordic talents.

    All photos supplied by


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *